Open menu

Dates to Remember

  • 2025: ICPAN Conference                       in Dublin, Ireland                                 Date:  Sept 3-5, 2025 
  • 2025:  ASPAN Conference in Dallas Texas                                                      Date: April  26-May 1, 2025
  • 2024: NTI, Denver                                 Date: May 20-22 2024



NAPANc 5th Edition, Standards for Practice 2023! 
The 5th Edition Standards for Practice Committee members: 
Laura McNulty, Chair,5th Edition New Brunswick
Indgrid Daley, Ontario, (co-editor)
Meghann Elliott, British Columbia
Nathalie Gould, New Brunswick
Christina Hindle, Nova Scotia
Lorna Jensen, British Columbia
Marianne Kampf, Ontario
Leanne Katsabouris, Ontario
Tayna Lachapell, Ontario (co-editor)
Karen Shute, British Columbia
Marta Tataryn, Manitoba
Rhonda Winter, British Columbia
Janet Clarke, Ontario
Kathy Grant, New Brunswick
Tanyna Lachapelle, Ontario
Sharon Peabody, New Brunswick
Cynthia Thorn, New Brunswick

NAPANc 4th Edition, Standards for Practice 2017! 

The 4th Edition Standards for Practice Committee members:   

Many ideas for updates, additions and enhancements were discussed and approved by the NAPANc Board of Directors.  Since then, the Standards Committee has worked tirelessly to research and provide the most recent evidence in PeriAnesthesia nursing from all sources to include all environments and all domains, as well as throughout all 5 phases of PeriAnesthesia nursing.

This newest edition includes:

The latest evidence for all existing sections PLUS 

• Pediatric Resource 
• Pain Management Resource 
• Postoperative (and Prolonged) Nausea and Vomiting Management 
• Airway Management 
AND Two new Position Statements, more Glossary definitions, and an Index!  
A MUST edition to own!  For information regarding the Standards, and to order your own copy (now available in Electronic format), please go to:  NAPANc Standards for Practice, 4th edition,
Laura McNulty, Chair,4th Edition New Brunswick
Michelle Best, Newfoundland
Rhonda Winter, British Columbia
Dory Glaser Watson, Alberta (co-editor)
Kathy Jellow, Saskatchewan
Laura Van Loon, Saskatchewan
Corene Panych, Manitoba
Janet Clarke, Ontario
Karen Wessel, Ontario
Ramona Hackett, Ontario (co-editor)
Cindy Chow, Quebec
Leigh-Anne Marshall, Nova Scotia
Laura Walker, Nova Scotia
Melanie Connors, Manitoba
Janet Clarke, Ontario
Karen Yu, Quebec
Sonia Sandberg, Quebec
Jennifer Hang In Chan, Quebec
Angeline Comeau, Nova Scotia
Heather Hirtle, Nova Scotia
Sharon Peabody, New Brunswick
Lorraine Whelan, Newfoundland


Members of the 3rd edition of the NAPANc Standards for Practice, 2014:

Laura Van Loon RN, Chair, 3rd Edition, Saskatchewan                
Louisa Bartlett RN, Secretary, Alberta                             
Bernard Bachaalany RN BScN, Quebec                                                                    
Nela Crisan RN BScN, Ontario                                                       
Paula Ferguson MN NP-Adult, President NAPAN©, Ontario                  
Nancy Forbes RN BN, Nova Scotia                          
Dory Glaser-Watson BScN PNC(C) CLNC TNCC, Alberta                                            
Amanda Hunt RN BScN, New Brunswick                                                                             
Laura McNulty RN, President-Elect NAPAN©, New Brunswick
Simone Towle RN BScN, Nova Scotia                                                                         
Daphne Whalen-Brake RN MN, Newfoundland                                                         


 Section Co-Authors and Consultants
Thao Le RN BScN (Co-Author Resource 12), Quebec
Jiao Jiang, MN, NP-Anesthesia (Consultant Position Statement 3), Ontario
Claire Middleton, MD, FRCP, Anesthesiologist (Consultant Position Statement 3), Ontario


Former NAPAN© Standards Committee Members 3rd Edition

Robyn Vinck RN                      Manitoba                              2013-2014
Marion Power RN                    Nova Scotia                          2004-2013


There are also many English and French Reviewers who gave of their time to review these Standards and offer suggestions for improvement, or just to correct editorial errors.  These people are recognized in the Standards.  The Standards Committee thanks all Reviewers for their time and efforts.


The National Association of PeriAnesthesia Nurses of Canada's Former Standards Committee Members:


2011 Second Edition Standards Committee:

Laura Van Loon, Saskatchewan, Co-Chair
Marion Power,  Nova Scotia, Co-Chair
Laurel Archer, BC, Co-Secretary
Colleen Archbold, BC, Co-Secretary
Louisa Bartlett, Alberta, Member and Co-Secretary
Nela Crisan, Ontario, Member
Paula Ferguson, Ontario, President NAPANc
Thao Le, Quebec, Member
Cindy Thorne, NB, Member
Simone Towle, Nova Scotia, Member
Daphne Whalen Brake, Newfoundland, Member
Former Members of the 2nd Edition Committee:
Melanie Connors, Manitoba, Member
Erin Billson, Manitoba, Member

First Edition 2008 Committee Members:

Melanie Connors, RN, BN, MSA, Manitoba         Chair 2006-8, Co-Chair 2004-6
Sue Kennedy, RN, BScN, Ontario                    Co-Chair 2004-6, Member 2006-8
Joan Toms, RN, Manitoba                               Past President, 2004-8
Laura Van Loon, RN, Saskatchewan                 Member, 2004-8
Beth Kennedy, RN, BN, New Brunswick            Member, 2004-8
Simone Towle, RN, BScN, CNE, Nova Scotia      Member, 2004-8
Marion Power, RN, Nova Scotia                       Member, 2004-8
Erin Billson, RN, Manitoba                               Member, 2006-8
Gloria Dow, RN, Manitoba                              Secretary, 2006-8


Past NAPANc First Edition Standards Members

Shirley Clarke, RN, BSN, MS, British Columbia   Member, 2004-7
Linda Sullivan, RN, Newfoundland                  Member, 2004-7
Shannon Lee, RN, President Elect                 Member, 2005-6
Barb Cross, RN, BScN, British Columbia           Member, 2004-5
Brenda Rattray, RN, BSN, British Columbia      Member, 2004-5
Linda Fritz, RN, Alberta                                Member, 2004-5
Shelley Jeske, RN, BScN, Alberta                  Member, 2004-6
Ruth Wadman, RN, BN, Alberta                    Member, 2004-5
Lynn Ostrovsky, RN, BAS, Ontario                 Member, 2004-6
Diane Buckley, RN, President, Ontario            Member, 2004-6


The NAPANc Standards Committee would like to thank our generous sponsors, for without their support the Standards would not have been possible.


If you would like to become involved in the Standards Committee, please use the link under "Standards" and complete the "Questions about the Standards" section.  Add "I would like to join the Standards Committee" in the "message" section and submit by email to be connected immediately to the Chair of the committee.


If you have ideas for additional information to be added to the Standards, please contact the chair of the Standards Committee by email (as above) with your suggestions.